Age is Better

English Lit Geek

Age is Better
Rod McKuen, 1933-2015

I have been young,
a fresh faced sprout,
with agile legs, a muscled arm and smile
to charm the world I went through
in a rush to get a little older, sooner.

Catching my reflection while passing past
a looking glass not long ago
I discovered I was older, even old. There was
no sudden melancholy or regret, and yet
some sadness in the wonder that it happened
while I wasn’t watching,
No pause to proudly ply the autumn into winter
process.
Imagine.
Nothing changed.
I run as fast. I think a little faster and yet forget
at times what I went after there as I left here to
get it. This while crossing half a room
not half a lifetime.

So I’ve been young and I’ve been old and have
determined old is better.

Youth unfolds like coy Cleopatra from a rug
spilling…

Ver o post original 254 mais palavras

Deixe uma resposta

