the crocodile trainer

Frank Prem

I am the crocodile trainer

I have an egg-flip
in my hand
and six sets of teeth
are smiling up at me
as I line them up

side-by-side

big one on the left
descending in size
until I get to the
big one on the right
who’s now climbing
all over his neighbour

Hey! Hey!
watch out for my sheets
 with those claws

tonight I have to sleep
in that
again

I have delivered a smack
sharp across the tip
of a nose

and somehow my egg-flip
seems to get
a good response

and there they are
my croco-stars

six mouths open
six in a simultaneous
hiss

and I am ready
to wake up now
job done

the crocodile -trainer’s job
is done


© Frank Prem, 2016

Ver o post original

Deixe uma resposta

