The big issue

Progressive Culture | Scholars & Rogues

Homelessness ain’t just an American thing…

Part of my S&R Tokyo Series

He was selling The Big Issue Japan on the south side of Nakano Station, so despite his immaculate appearance I knew the man was homeless. Only homeless persons are authorized to sell The Big Issue on Tokyo’s streets. It’s a legitimate way to earn money to mollify the effects of the predicament they’re in. My wife was with me and I described to her what the man was doing and why.

She immediately said “I hope he doesn’t have to be out here selling that paper for very long.”

(Nakano Station, Tokyo, November 2015. See my other work here and here.)

Ver o post original

Deixe um comentário

