‘The First Rule’ and other poems by Susan Millar DuMars

Poethead; a poetry blog

Reclamation

 
The blood has stopped
and with it the need
to suckle lesser creatures.
My breasts are pale, cool
proud
and mine.
 
The blood has stopped
and with it the need
to shield smaller souls
inside me.
My womb calm.
Not weeping.
And it’s my womb.
 
I’m learning the pleasure
of empty.
The weight of one.
Nothing on my back
but a breeze
getting colder.
 
The blood has stopped
and with it the need
to grow anything
but older.
 

The First Rule

 
Will I show you what to do
with a naked woman?
 
You can
lie on top of her
feel her yield
taste her salt
ride her undulations
know her to be ocean
almost drown
 
leave her
the wind again her breath
the tide again her muscles
the rocks again her bones.
 
This is a naked woman.
Rain fed
pulsing…

Ver o post original 348 mais palavras

Deixe um comentário

